Marijuana use/abuse and adolescence and advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I wonder if anyone could advise on whether Topa may work for an 18 year old who seems to have rapidly become addicted to marijuana? Thankyou

Naltrexone is used for heoin and in the odd occasion marijuana according to my doc
    "From now on, walking is my beer and feeling good is my hangover" .....Homer Simpson

Comment

they have to want to though
      "From now on, walking is my beer and feeling good is my hangover" .....Homer Simpson

Comment

thanks Maxman

Comment

Apple,
          I would not recommend Topa for sure, but I am not a doctor. Marijuana is very common at that age. And most experts do not consider it addictive. That is, when you go off it -- withdrawal is only really pscyhological, some anxiety. The problem with heavy use of MJ is that it is a gateway to harder drugs which are totally addictive. IE, the kids that hang out doing a lot of mj also often do coc, heroin, whatever.

I doubt that a Dr would prescribe topa or any of those drugs for mari. use. My biggest concern would be the other drugs. I mean he/she is wasting a lot of precious time doing mj. Is it possible he/sh e will grow out of it as they take on more responsibility in life.

I know this because I went thru it with my daughter, who is now a successful attorney. She has the disease of addiction & mj led to heroin & major addiction.

Comment

As a former (VERY recently) smoker, as Chrysa says it's common in teenagers. I believe Alcohol to be the gateway drug but that's another story!

I agree that medication is not necessary but perhaps some therapy and a chat to an ex junkie would be good. At the end of the day she will do what SHE wants so I wish you much luck! You never think at that age that you'll go down the path of addictive drugs, I certainly didn't and I most certainly DID!