I'm very nervous...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm very nervous...

I have to stop this horrible cycle I have gotten myself into. I think I am fooling everyone but, I am beginning to realize that I am the being fooled. I am a professional with an excellent job. Great husband, great kids (older and out of the house). Drinking started 30 yrs ago. How do you go about changing what seems to be an essential for your lifestyle? How do you one day quit drinking when you are the Queen of parties? All the summer paties, all the holiday parties, all the friends, all the family. How do you completely change your life? I have to but, I don't know how. I have ordered the book and the vitamins and the cd. I have a doctors appointment on the 5th. I cannot understand how I am going to do this. I have broken so many promises before. Especially to my husband. I cannot watch the hurt on his face. Sorry to babble on and on....:new:

I'm very nervous...

:welcome: Cheebs!

Unfortunately when one quits alcohol their whole life changes. At least for the first while. It is still possible to have fun at parties being sober. Many people don't think so early on, but down the road you would be surprised.

Another thing is you have to this for yourself. When we quit for other people, such as our husbands, etc... it typically doesn't work.

Why don't you try 30 days AF as suggested in the book and then go from there. If you look at it as "I cannot drink for the rest of my life" it places too much pressure on oneself. Try it in stages.

All the best!

Comment

I'm very nervous...

Hey Cheebs,

I hope you're ok. Look I'll be straight, Im no way medically minded nor am I experienced in this field. That said Ive just started with this attempt to re address my alcohol intake too, and what Ive found with the help on these message boards and the suppliments Im very positive I can control this.