??Friends...?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

??Friends...?

Can I dump this down the line? - can't quite get my head around it....

Excuse me for being stupid here bit I think I'm not very good at spotting true friends over....well, others....

When I moved to Cornwall I made few friends due to the jealous nature of my then partner....when he left I was able to make a few. The lady next door became, what I thought was, my 'best friend' - as in, for someone I hadn't known that long, only for geopgraphical reasons... When I moved to this house, a couple of miles from hers, we met frequently...or did I just drip in frequently (she rarely, if ever came here even if asked...) as I had bought my little boat from her (D. discovered she was selling it and negotiated the price, I paid and yet the ownership certificate had both his and my name on it....?!?.. so he could keep his mooring by putting my boat on it....he said....he never did!!)

So, H and I struck up this great friendship...she's a great 'tippler' and mostly drank me under the table.... She had a horrendous time with a second hubby who is still a crazy (tried to blow up her car with a huge firework pack last year?!?) alcoholic...so, she recoginsesone she ssaid and I wasn't one - for definite. We met about twice a week for 4 years.

Then I lost my licence - she was total support, came to the hearing and everything. Then I fell at New Year - another story unwritten about; everyone thought it was booze but I slipped on washing on the stairs in the dark at 2am going to the loo and had 50 stitches in my mouth/face.....we'll go there if relevant another time!!(Just ALWAYS turn the light on...you never know!)

She was coming round on 4th Jan to see me but cancelled that morning saying 'she had a bug' - she'd ring in a couple of days'....that was 10.5 months ago. (I couldn't ring her back in January - I couldn't speak for a couple of weeks - ouch!)