DT's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DT's

Does anyone know.....How many drinks per day does a person need to be drinking to experience DT's when giving up alcohol.

I keep screwing up with moderating so I was thinking of just stopping completely but the whole DT's thing scares me to death. If I go to bed feeling fine could I wake up with them or something? I have a prescription for Xanax which is a benzo so maybe that would be good to take? I already take one everynight for sleep anyway though.
    Patience has its limits. Take it too far, and it's cowardice.
    - George Jackson

DT's

You have to have been drinking an extreme amount for many years to experience DTs on withdrawal. I am not an expert (although I nearly am from experience!) but I am sure you don't have to worry about DTs.

Withdrawal symptoms, like shakiness, anxiety, problems sleeping, are more common for people who have been drinking every night for many years. But, truly, DTs come only to the really die-hard, morning-to-night drinkers who do it for years and years.

If you are really worried, try cutting back for a few days before going cold turkey.

And yes, benzos will also help you. They make you tired and a little "out of it" but they will ease the process.
    Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life... And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.

Steve Jobs, Stanford Commencement Adress, 2005

Comment

DT's

Beatle,

So, you are saying those who drink from dawn to dsusk are at risk??

LOL (damn not laughing)

I have been doing that. Damn!!!!

I am tired of being a drunk. Daighter is DYING from being a drunk. I would take her place in a heartbeat,.. No faster than a heartbeat.

Love,
      Cindi
      AF April 9, 2016

Comment

DT's

I wish that that the last post was a "look at it" kind of thing