Withdrawal symtoms

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Withdrawal symtoms

Hi all. I have been drinking for five years now. Started at 4 glasses of wine a night and is now up to around 5 to 8, depending. I can't seem to cut down to reduce chances of withdrawal so I suppose I will have to go cold turkey. I am very concerned about the intensity of withdrawal symptoms and if I will still able to work, etc. Any thoughts?

Withdrawal symtoms

Welcome 2young. and congratulations for making a life-changing decision. So it looks like you've been drinking 2 bottles of wine a night? I am probably not the most reliable source for advice but I don't think that you will have serious (meaning in need of hospitlization) withdrawl symptoms. You will probably feel anxious, and moody. And this can not be conquored in a day. You will probably have more psychological issues than physical. And they last much, much longer. OK. so that's all the bad news. The good news is that after about a week of no alcohol, maybe more, maybe less, you will begin to feel mentally stronger and clearer. And this is when you can make the decisions you need to change your life. I'm sure others here will give you more advice about how to go about not drinking with nutritional supplelments but I think we agree that drinking lots of water those first few days is important. This is a good place to come for support. Keep reading and asking questions.
    sigpic

Comment

Withdrawal symtoms

Hi 2 young. Take the supps, L-glutamine and kudzu. Start on a Friday and have a plan for the weekend so you don't sit around and obsess about your buddy. Amazing how much you can think about what you feel you are denying yourself. Keep busy. Hope that helps. Good luck.
      sigpic
      Thoughts become things..... choose the good ones. ~TUT

Comment

Withdrawal symtoms

it all depends how healthy you are, and how long you have been drinking 2 bottles of wine a day.