Sat. May 23, Check-in

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sat. May 23, Check-in

Hi Everyone: It isn't quite 12 midnight, but I'll start this thread anyway. I've been here at MWO a little over a year & though I've had some ups & downs, I've experienced many sober days (unfortunately puctuated by a few slips & binges). I'm working very hard at establishing a sober life & becoming a non-drinker one day at a time.

One of the benefits I've noticed about becoming sober is that my tendency to isolate myself has diminished greatly. What could be more isolating than drinking alone? I had allowed my relationships w/friends & relatives to stagnate. I didn't even want to speak to my husband or children about anything meaningful, because I carried around so much shame. I took any opportunity I could find to stay home & drink alone.

I'm not exactly shy, but I'm not an extrovert. I have to work at sociability. When I first started drinking, alcohol really helped me in social situations. As I became a problem drinker, then an alcoholic, the drinking hindered me. In social situations, all I could think about was when I could pour myself another drink. The drinking alone caused all sorts of mental agony.

These are the types of things I must remember when I start to think that it would be nice to have a drink once in a while. I just can't do that. With the first drink, I'm off & running, & it could be days before I come out of it.

That is not a lifestyle I want to return to.

All comments or insights are welcomed. I think about everything I read here.

Mary
    Wisdom, Courage, Strength
    October 3, 2012

Sat. May 23, Check-in

Hi Mary - I'm about a half hour behind you here. I'm glad to see you here in general. I know your intention is AF for life, not just 30 days. Mine too. I was never a binge drinker, just an every night drinker. But I am sure given a few more years, this disease would have progressed some more.