Do we really know who we are?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Today was a GREAT day. My daughter came home today!!! YAY ME! We had a fantabulous day. Lunch, shopping, now home for the evening.

Anyway, I noticed I was different today. I HATE SHOPPING, but she loves it. Usually after a few hours, I'm pretty agitated. The lines, the crowds, rude people, etc. Today, it didn't seem to bother me. The little things that would normally piss me off, didn't. Everything just was smooth sailing, and nothing getting on my nerves.

Anyway, I'm beginning to wonder....I've been drinking since about 15, so 29 years, the last 5 pretty consistently. What if I'm not the person I thought I was? Everything I've done in my life, revolved around drinking. So in turn, the day after drinking, feeling like shit. So, my daily behavior and personality for the last 29 years was warped due to the alcohol.

I beginning to feel like I don't know the real me, the AF me. My bad personality traits which I never associated alcohol, seem to be diminishing. God knows I'm sure I'm not the perfect person, but I'm starting to see a better side to me.

Could this be true? All those so called quirks (another word for BITCHINESS) are not as bad as I thought they were?
    "Be Kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle."

I wondered who I "really " was when I began the quest for the AF me. Would I like me? Would I be the same? Different? In a good way or bad way? Would I like my current friends? Would they like me? What about my family?