Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My progress report!

Hi all,
    Just wanted you all to know how I am doing.
    I have been AF for the past 193 days. It's been a roller coaster with many, many more shining mountain tops than shadowy valleys. Life is good and I wake up every morning thanking the universe for the miracle that I am able to live. Thanks to Roberta Jewell for this site that led me to follow the examples of Bootsie, Buckledown and Bestlife to go and seek Rhonda Lenairs help and find lifelong sobriety in the process.

For the newbies who don't know a thing about me:
    I am a 62 year old professional who has been living at the bottom of a very large Scotch bottle for the past 25 years. I was a "functioning" alcoholic (meaning I somehow was able to keep my job). However, for years I could not remember the ending of a movie; the conversation I had with someone the night before or where I put things, because everyday of my life ended in a blackout and 3 or 4 hours of comatose "sleep".

Today I go to bed sober and healthfully tired and sleep like a dead dog for at least 7 continuous hours and wake up rested and ready to get out of bed and tackle what needs tackling. I can work 18 continuous hours if I so chose to and remember all of it the next day. Even the tasks that I used to hate doing are much easier to get done, because I am just so darn glad that my head has started to work again.
    I was suffering from acute peripheral neuropathy which started to disappear after about 5 month without alcohol. My eyesight has normalized, my eyes are not yellow anymore and I lost about 15 pounds.

I am busy all the time and I feel a great need to do a load of things that I was not able to do because I was never present in my own life. It's all good and I do not allow myself to whine about all the time that I missed. It's water under the bridge.

Anyway, there is no downside to sobriety. It's all good.

This is turning into a novel again.