A call to moms who struggle with booze

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi there, I am totally new here. I tried to search for some threads or posts related to my "issue" but couldn't find one to jump on board so I wanted to start my own. About me: I am a mom of 2 small children and one due in March 09. I have been battling by binge drinking patters for about 8 years now--so before I was married. I know I am a problem drinker. As in, when I drink, it's a problem--but often and for days and weeks and even months I can go without. The longest periods of sobreity are during my pregnancies and the worst times seem to be right after birth! I did okay for the most part during my first 2 pregnancies--had a handful of binges (maybe 5 or so)...This pregnancy started out very good. I was totally sober for about 16 weeks,then slowly began to drink--with control. But this has slowly lead down the road to where I have binged now way more than I want to remember. To be dead honesty (and please don't bash me!) I am on about 10 days sober and one night of excess. Now although this is terrible, I don't drink until passing out, but I do go over the "5 drink" binge limit. I have thought about posting on regular pregnancy forums, but I find mothers with no drinking issues are so disgusted with such behavior, I would be stoned to death over there--maybe I deserve it. I have beat myself up enough. I have read every thing there is to know about FAS, FAE, etc. On the outside I look and people perceive me as a "normal" person who drinks occasionally (obviously I do most of my drinking away from everyone). I have had 2 home births and plan this one at home as well, so I look quite holistic from the outside. Awful huh! Anyway, can any moms share their experience and how they dealt with the cravings, guilt, shame, hubby, docs etc. during their pregnancy Greatly appreciated! Oh boy, my load is a little less.