Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Narcissistic parents and alcoholism

Hi Everyone,

I was on these boards about two years ago and then took a break because I started to work quite a bit. It feels good to be back.

I had a few too many drinks last Saturday. I was feeling pretty lousy about myself and my life. I use to love my job, but with reorganizations, I don't like the new work or the new boss. I own a home, but the town has only married people and people ask me why I would be single, own a home, and live in this town. Sometimes, I don't even have the strength to go out! I have a master's degree, speak three languages fluently, have friends, and love to ballroom dance. But down deep inside, I'm still trying to reconcile a relationship with my mother.

I had a huge fight with her last Saturday and will no go to visit her for the holidays. I just feel terrible, but I am starting to realize that she is very narcissistic. I hate it that even at 36, she still tells me what to do. She wants to control when I get my hair cut, when I go to see the doctor, etc. She tells me that I was stupid to buy a home.

I have thought all these years that I was only here to serve her and do things for her. But no matter how much I do, she's never happy. I realize that I need to take a break for myself and not beat myself up over it.

I am a binge drinker. When I start, it's difficult if not impossible to stop. I just won't let myself buy any more alcohol. I've been drinking on and off for the past twenty years. I can go for a couple of years without a drink but then one day I crack and have to have one which leads to several over a few days.

I was wondering if anyone out there also was recovering from a narcissistic parent. If so or if not, I appreciate any advice and encouragement. I am also planning on attending an AA meeting tonight. I'm sorry if this is just babbling!

Thank you for being there!

Tina:thanks:
    AF Days in 2008: 350