Claims to Fame...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Claims to Fame...

This was prompted by a radio programme requesting people tell of their (rather tenuous) claims to fame; mostly near misses with celebrities... So just wondered whether MOWers have had their 15 mins of fame or meeting with celebs?

Mine is mingling with Nickleback and not having a clue who they were (partner and friend said they were from a group - "Flashback or something"!! Gotta love the older generation:H)

Next...

Claims to Fame...

I surreptitiously loosened a small stone from the side of Hank Williams' bbq in Nashville and brought to back to Oz.

My friends were not and still are not interested or impressed. In fact they stopped coming to dinner parties. Guess "anybody want to see my stone from Hank's bbq"? becomes a bit lame after a few years ...

Comment

Claims to Fame...

When I was a student at University of Florida there was a show by two young fellas from Saturday Night Live on campus. I went and somehow was able to be close enough to shake their hands, though then they weren't too big a deal. But they sure turned out to be... Chris Rock and Adam Sandler!
      FINALLY -- I'm a non-drinker!!

Comment

Claims to Fame...

Tawny, methinks only frogs give a flip about stones.
        FINALLY -- I'm a non-drinker!!

Comment

Claims to Fame...

How does one "surreptitiously" loosen a stone from a bbq?? I can imagine under an alcoholic haze one might think they were doing something surreptitiously but, otherwise, I imagine you'd be looked upon as the quirky antipodean... non?!

Comment

Claims to Fame...

Blondie - no - no alcohol involved. You just stand there looking extremely relaxed and comfortable and attempt to hold a vaguely intelligent conversation whilst your fingernails are madly wriggling and digging away at the stone. Voila!

Comment

Claims to Fame...

Hmmm, obviously wasn't the Besser Block BBQ construction that I have down the back!