How does one quit without seeing a future

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am on day 2 of no drinking and have been reading, especially the long term abstainers area. And the big difference between those who are successful seems to be having a plan, seeing a future. But beyond getting up in the morning and going to work, I have the hardest time motivating myself to do anything like exercise and finding support through friends. I've never tried it before so I guess I wouldn't know but I have such a narrow life and I don't know how to begin having real interests and passions. I want to be someone who considers alcohol a negligible part of their past and while I certainly know I must quit, I don't know how to create a life that I want to live. Do you just do it until you change? The only thing I can see myself actually doing is meditation as I needn't leave the house. How does someone who has never exercised at all get a routine like that? I feel so anxious that I won't make my life worth living. It's pathetic that I want to escape the normal everyday stuff but I must or I'll lose even that. I really do not want to lose my husband and be in some lonely apartment again alone. I would rather end everything.