I know this is way off topic, but...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I would absolutely love to be given some ideas on a business of my own.

I was looking at franchises today and most are horribly expensive. I just don't have the intestinal fortitude to throw in to such huge debt.

Having this community from all over the world, I would love to hear ideas.

I love what I do for a living but the weekly travel is wearing me down mentally and physically. (I am in IT consulting.)

Thanks in advance.

Cindi
    AF April 9, 2016

Cinders what are you interested in? Are you an independent consultant? If so, why all the travel?
    Outside of a dog a book is mans best friend. Inside of a dog its too dark to read

Comment

Running your own business is a great idea Cinders. I did it after years on the Gov't payroll and never regretted it. I made more money, I was happier. Fortunately It was big enough to employ my wife and son too. When I eventually sold it I had buit it up to be worth more than three times what I paid for it and I was able to retire at 49.
      It was a soft drink distribution business and required a fair bit of muscle (me & son)
      When I first went looking I had made a list of things that the business needed to provide. Like 'how much travel' & 'how many hours.' You will have different priorities.
      While it is possible to start up new, it can be hard. An existing business will have a track record and you will be able to see what you are getting.
      As a matter of interest, my son set up an internet business (importing from o'seas and selling locally) he does very well at it too. All the free time he wants and only needs a computer to run it. No storage or shop or employees...beautifully simple.
      My advice is to read the 'Businesses For Sale' columns and see what takes your fancy then examine each one closely.