Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New and lost

Hey there...
    I am new here and am very motivated to stop my 2 year nightly drinking habit.
    I have between 6 to 10 beer a night.Sometimes more.

I am an artist and use booze to relax.
    What started as a beer or two a night has blossomed into a problem I want help with.
    I worry I need booze to work but that is just a cop out.
    I am on meds
    zoloft
    clonazapam
    valproic acid as I am bi-polar.
    I am on very low doses and was told in April that the amount of meds I am taking is sub therapeutic.
    I do have tenderness around my liver area but have had a recent ultrasound that
    I started drinking when I was 16 and quit COLD Turkey in 1995.
    No help from a doctor
    I was sober for 13 years and then for some stupid reason I took it up again.
    I really want this to work but I am very uncomfortable about talking with my Dr.
    I live in Canada and I am not sure if we have the same meds.
    I want to moderate my drinking to a safe level and use tapering Off to control withdrawl
    I am not able to spend a ton of money but will sign up for the e-book and as a subscriber...

Any advice on where to start besides the provided info would be great...
    I really do want to lose the weight I have gained.
    I want to feel better
    And to do what I did in 1995...
    I want to be free.
    Thanks for any/all suggestions:new:

New and lost

Admom, welcome. Yes, your story is very common here. Have you checked out the toolbox on Long Term Abstainers?
    First, decide what you really need and want for the future. It doesn't have to be in stone, but a plan for releasing yourself from this. And most people start off by wanting to mod, be 'normal'. If that works, it's wonderful. But after a while, you may find it's just not that important in your life to have AL in it. That's what's happened to many of us.