Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Drinking For Medical Not Mental Reasons?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Who drinks to calm themselves, because of high blood pressure....and even typical small stressers will cause it to skyrocket and in avoidance of a possible heart attack...drinking...calms you down...a doctor and normal pills are not a possibility...but drinking is...make sense?

BSB, I think maybe The Beast is trying to convince you to take a drink anyway, and is raising your blood pressure to get you to pick up the glass. I'd try to get some Valarian (liquid form from a Naturopath is best) to calm yourself and lots of relaxation if you feel a stressor overtaking you. I'm not a Doctor, but I'd certainly see one and explain your situation (if you can open up to him/her) and see what they can do to make things a little less bumpy. But don't let that beast trick you...sneaky little devil that he is.
    :h Mish :h
    sigpic
    Never give up...
    GET UP!!!

AF since 25th November, 2011

What might have been is an abstraction
    Remaining a perpetual possibility
    Only in a world of speculation.
    What might have been and what has been
    Point to one end, which is always present. T.S. Eliot

Comment

Many alcoholics started by self medicating for underlying problems/ issues/mental conditions. Using alcohol as a "drug" is abuse. I did this for 30+ years to self medicate my then undiagnosed ADHD. There are more appropriate, less dangerous drugs that can be prescribed (or therapy, or both) if need be. There are non drug alternatives such as learning relaxation techniques that are helpful in many cases. Learning new habits and behaviors plays a big part in both getting and staying sober.

Alcohol also raises blood pressure, rather than lowers it.

Alcohol: Does it affect blood pressure? - MayoClinic.com