Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'Dreaded' Family Dinner

Hi All,

I have a family dinner this Sunday, as for various reasons we can't all get together on Christmas itself.

I've tried all of their patience now for roughly 3 years with my dips in and out of drinking, crying on the phone, begging for help, sneaking alcohol when they weren't looking etc.

I'm dreading going this weekend and knowing they will all be watching to see that I don't drink. Not because I think (at the moment) I'll want to, but that I have made myself a liar and a sneak.

I've also got to turn up without any presents for anyone as I have spent my money on....drink....a horrific thing to know that I have been so selfish - AGAIN.

I'm unemployed as I have not been able to find/hold down a job since my heyday where I was a respected senior manager. Yet whenever I find a few bucks here or there....TO THE STORE WE GO!

This is the problem with my own cycle....I get clean...realise I have no money and thousands in debt (I have only just started opening the bills again after a 2 week 'bender') and then it panics me and what is the only thing that makes me (think...) I feel better? A drink.

And so it goes on....and on...

I have now managed a week sober which isn't much but a start but I fear this dreaded dinner will kick me off again.

Any ideas?

Thanks all!
    If you can't have one drink, don't have any - My Nan

'Dreaded' Family Dinner

:welcome: English,
    Firstly well done on your week AF and now onto the family dinner.
    May 2009 I went to my godfather's 90th birthday dinner and made a complete arse of myself, enough so that I had one or two relatives ring me with their 'concern' for me. Fast forward to May 2010 at his 91st birthday dinner. I had been AF 10 months and have to say I was absolutely dreading it. I got through it nobody said anything about my behaviour the previous year and I woke up the following morning guilt free and hangover free,.