Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Alcohol and memory

Friends,

I have been drinking regularly for about 20 years and my long term memory has been severely impaired as a result. Do you know if it is something I will gain back naturally? Long term abstiners, did some of you lost long term memory and regain it? Thank you.

Alcohol and memory

Hi All
    I am sorry I don't know I can't remember. What was the question?

Serious though i still have memory problems. We are all different and you might not. I did have an al lifestyle a lot longer then yours.

Stay Healthy and Keep Fighting
    AF 5-16-08
    Stay Healthy and Keep Fighting
    AF 5-16-08

Comment

Alcohol and memory

Hi Frenchman,

When I was in rehab they told me that if I kept on drinking I would damage my frontal lobe area of the brain. That kind of shocked me into cohesion. If I were you and I were really concerned with memory I would get an MRI to see if there is actually any brain damage. For me personally I would prefer to know than not to know.

If there is no brain damage and you have stopped drinking I do not see why slowly you would not get your long term memory back. Everything is practice. Even when I don't drink at all sometimes I wake up feeling guilty. That is a learned behavior from all the times I woke up slaughtered. Maybe your mind has learned to dispense of things because it is so used to not remembering?

Who knows but to be sure - you can't go past an MRI.

Good luck.
      "The pain of regret far exceeds the pain of discipline"

Kind of AF since 14/8/09

Fully AF since 16/4/11

It's been one hell of a ride.

Comment

Alcohol and memory

My long term and short term memory is bad. I blame the alcohol use, plus the fact that I started at a young age--while my brain was still developing.
        The will of God will never take you where the Grace of God will not protect you.ray:

Comment

Alcohol and memory