Husband Wants A Divorce

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Husband Wants A Divorce

It really should come as no suprise. I've been boozing it up for 6 years now. I've been married for 10. I've gone the route with having gotten a DUI, admitted to 2 rehabs and having nearly lost my job all due to A. My husband and I have been talking about getting divorced several times the past year. I'm the one who brings the topic up. Today, he did. He wants to move on. He told me this as he was dropping me off at work. Again, it's no surpise, yet it hurt to hear it from him. Has anyone else's marriage ended because of Al?
    September 23, 2011

Husband Wants A Divorce

Hi Reenie. I'm very sorry to hear about this. All we have is today Reenie. The very best way to deal with it is to stay sober and just do our best to do the next right thing. Each time you have a thought about drinking and you choose not to is a victory. Each AF day is a victory. Each day facing your situation at work with dignity and calm is a victory. Each time you choose to do something positive for your recovery like post here or go to an AA meeting or call someone in your army is a victory. That is all stuff you can control.

The rest of it will work itself out whatever way it does in due time. Those little victories will eventually lead you to a good and stable sober life - with or without husband. Who knows what the future holds. It will all be brighter without AL, that's for sure.

Hang in there Reenie.

DG
    Sobriety Date = 5/22/08
    Nicotine Free Date = 2/27/07

One day at a time.

Comment

Husband Wants A Divorce