Things I regret because of drinking

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1. Almost getting arrested at a bar during a work trip and in a company car because I became confrontational. A sheriff drove me to a hotel and I left the hotel to try to get my car and drive home (2 hrs). the sheriff caught me & took me back to the hotel with strict instructions I was not to leave. I was late to my son's concert the next day and sick as h**l.
    2. All the times I have slept in because "Mom was sick"...
    3. All the times I have picked fights with my husband and son so I could storm off and drink alone.
    4. all of the times I couldn't really be there for my son because I wanted to drink more or because I too hungover to deal with it.

Almost everything i did for 20 odd years.
    AF since 10/26/2009

It will be five years sober 10/26/2014

Comment

Thanks for this. I still cry when I think about certain things...so many more I could have written about. I am new to all of this and grateful for a place that feels safe.

Comment

MH, (Hazel was my Momma's name!) I can't believe a sheriff was so kind to you! It was NOT my experience!!!
        Drinking at my parent's funerals.
        Drinking around my children, grandchildren.
        Drinking (being warped!) PERIOD!
        sigpic
        Never look down on a person unless you are offering them a hand up.
        awprint: RUBY Imagine yourself doing What you love and loving What you do, Being happy From the inside Out, experiencing your Dreams wide awake, Being creative, being Unique, being you - changing things to the way YOU know they can BE - Living the Life you Always imagined.awprint:

Comment

I had a great dog named Ruby!

Thanks for the reply. I love being able to talk and not worry about it. It is comforting to know that I am not the only one...I am looking forward to better stories that don't involve me being completely self-destructive.

Comment