Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My first real post--here also (my booze paradox)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What other (commonly used) substance can make you soooo "giddy" from just after you stop feeling lousy from the previous night ("giddy" because you know you're going to drink yet again--you think it's something really "fun" to look forward to), until you have drunk enough that you are "wrecked" for the remainder of yet another evening???

I promised this so here it is. Not sure how to start or how to organize, so I'll just list 10 points referring to my personal experience with coming to dislike alcohol VERY much.

1] I am a 40 year old physician. I am married to a wonderful woman and have 2 sons, 5 yo and 4yo. I am an accomplished runner and photographer. Alcohol has diminished much of my life since I first got drunk on Budweiser at an Alice Cooper (fathom THAT!!) concert at about age 16. Don't get me wrong, life is really good for me, but it can be a whole lot better.

2] I started with beer. Now it's wine. For me, high end beer and wine have always had a certain allure. I did a lot of homebrewing and now I have a large wine collection. I've read Allen Carr's book and I like it a lot. I think he's a little rigid on some things, but even if I choose to drink again, I fully believe that I will be ingesting a poison. At this point in my life I see very little, if any good that alcohol (in any amount) can do for anyone.