Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Academics out there?

Hi All,

I'm not being exclusive, but I'm just wondering how many other academics there are on the forum. I know of two other than myself. I certainly do know any number of (ahem) "drinkers" among my colleagues, although to be fair I also have been very aware in some situations that I was the one automatically ordering the carafe of wine at lunch.

Anyone else?

Dancer

Academics out there?

Well, lol, I am a university librarian if that counts.

"I like people too much or not at all."
    Sylvia Plath

Comment

Academics out there?

Yup - it counts. I noticed you were posting about being an Assistant Professor. Sounds like the 'academy' to me....

You are speedy, however! I just posted this and then went down to the mods board to invite you here.Now you've already answered.

Comment

Academics out there?

i could be classed as an academic, i got all distinctions on my access to University course and I study Bsc honors in psychology and counselling and I volunteer as a person centred counsellour
        I love people who make me laugh. I honestly think it's the thing I like most, to laugh. It cures a multitude of ills. It's probably the most important thing in a person.
        Audrey Hepburn

Comment

Academics out there?

Thanks LPC - you've made me think about what I mean by an academic. Do I mean an intellectual, a scholar, or someone who works in post-secondary education, or... I guess I'm happy with self-identifying!

I'm also not sure that this will take off as a thread. Maybe we don't have anything to share with each other that we don't already share on another thread.