Just once a week?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just once a week?

I'm having a problem convincing myself that I can't drink, not even once a week.
    I went to rehab in January and did great for a few months. Recently, I think I can get away with drinking just one day a week. My brain is battling over this dilema. The "evil" side usually wins - damn that little devil! Has this ever happened to anyone and what did you do?

Roz

Just once a week?

Hello Roz

I'm no expert - and I'm sure that many of the long time Abbers here will be able to give better advice but here's my tuppeny worth!!

The key word in your post is 'Battling'. Normal people (in that I mean those who don't have an alcohol problem) don't 'battle' with thoughts about whether to drink or not drink. It isn't an issue for them like - shall I have a coffee tonight, or just stick with tea.

For most of us with 'problems' it is that constant 'battle' that we want to get away from. To live normally and not spend hours and hours everyday thinking about alcohol and whether to drink or not. Well that's my case anyway.

If you continue to drink (even if you can moderate to just one day a week and if you can - fantastic and go for it) will you still be constantly battling with yourself every day trying to decide whether or not you should drink that day? To me it's just so exhausting.

I am now 16 days AF and still battling every day - but not whether to drink - I've made the decision that I won't - but with the craving too. I have now accepted that I won't drink (that in itself is a big relief) but my 'blue sky' is to wake up every day and not even think about alcohol or drinking - that it won't be an issue or something I will ever waste my waking hours on again.

I hope you get the advice your need from others here - and good luck whatever you decide.
    Never put off to tomorrow what you can achieve today!

Comment

Just once a week?

Roz