Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am 51 years old and going back to college!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Here's the scenario:

In part because of drinking and in part because of the economy, I have sunk very, very low on the economic totem pole. In the 90s I was making $15 an hour. My high income was pretty close to 60K in the late 90s/early 2000s. Sunk to a low in employment for a couple of years, then got a good job for 17-21 bucks an hour. Quit that job (a story for another time, perhaps), had another 18 months of pretty much 0 income, and am now at the bottom of the food chain at a job where I make $11 an hour. I dislike this job so much, that I have even entered the company as "Hell" on my cell phone, LOL!

No one will give me a good job. I have 25 years experience in my field (graphic design, the printing and corrugated industries, teaching/public speaking and affiliated fields), but I do not have a degree. Experience used to count for something?a lot, actually?but I have found that I have been routinely passed over by people with less experience, who hold a trendier portfolio and a piece of paper in their hand.

Because I'm over 50, I'm really, really thinking of my Twilight Years?retirement, and the end of life, and I'm realizing that if I stay on the course I'm currently on, I will die with a broken spirit, depressed, living in a box somewhere. And so, at 51, I'm going back to school.

I am struggling with this decision! I am scared! I have questions! Am I doing the right thing?