Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

AF 3 weeks + 2 days and am so blown away ...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

...by this MWO program! It is just amazing!! I absolutely LOVE being free from the grips of drinking! I must admit, though, the complete abstinence from alcohol combined with the topa may be contributing to a bit of an "edgy moodiness" in me that is causing my relationship with my boyfriend to be even more precarious than it was with the mood swings my drinking caused. I'm hoping this edginess and moodiness is soon coming to an end. I'm VERY nervous and VERY on edge about a big evening out we have planned tomorrow night. It is a very special occassion that his sister-in-law planned in celebration of he and his brothers having just recently taken over their family business. It is my first time going out to a social event where there will be lots of drinking and toasting and celebrating since being in this program and where I will be NOT be drinking alcohol. I don't think it's the not drinking alcohol that I will find difficult though. I actually think I'm going to rather enjoy that part of it and in fact end up feeling somewhat smug or maybe the better word is more cool. I think what I'm anticipating being difficult is the possible feelings of uneasiness I may make other people feel. Is that crazy or what? Adding to the pressure, these are all the same close friends/family click that witnessed me get black-out angry drunk at a party last December (that turned out to be one of the pinnacle "rock-bottom" points that shoved me towards finding this book as it turns out). So I'm having a lot of trepidation in going to this event tomorrow night but I want to go for my boyfriend's sake and also to show myself that I have the strength and courage as well. Anybody with similar stories out there to share would be so greatly appreciated.

Hello Zoe,
    Great post.