Help me with my problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help me with my problem

I don't know where else to go. I know my problems but can never find a real solution. I drink about a fifth of vodka per day on average of 4-5 days a week....I pretty much only drink during M-F. I have a very loose job where I do not have to be in office at all, but still need to show results.

I basically have some kind of social phobia and do not really like to talk to people in general which is completely different that my profession allows hence I drink to be able to "do my job" but often more than not, I end up not doing it and drink until I pass out... I am not completely incapable of talking to them but I do not like to do it. I hate to make sales calls now because I am conscience of my physical appearance as I have stopped working out and always feel like my teeth are disgusting.

I have been doing this since about November 2009. I am on my 3rd job since then (this will be my last chance)...No one really knows the truth as I have separated myself from most of my old friends...95% of the time I drink at home by myself. I don't remember conversations I have with clients and of course cant tell anyone the truth, just have to play the "I forgot" card which makes me seem dumber than I normally am.

I feel like the alcohol has really effected my gums...Due to bill dispute, I have not seen the dentist in a couple of years...I had the beginnings of periodontal disease then and have a feeling it is really worse now as my mouth just feels "dirty" and my guns feel swollen. I am sure some of you will know what I am talking about.

I am close to 40 years old and use to drink on weekends only when out with friends and it was never a problem...So basically, it has just been the last 4 years where it has taken over. In fact, when my friends used to want to do sunday football drinking, I never wanted too...