Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone weight lift after dropping alcohol?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I know that it can have an effect on getting nutrients into the bloodstream but I have started to work out again and am making very little gains. Had a great workout last night and in the past, I would feel great the next day, I feel like I have not even worked out at all.

Anyone have experience with this and the timetable to get back?

I should add I have been having a good diet consisting of lean protein and veggies as for the first time in my life, I need to drop some weight.

Hi Brian...

Hmmmm... What was your consumption before starting to lift?
    If you were a heavy drinker... It's gonna take some time for your body and liver to heal. To be honest I am still struggling with my drinking but since I quit drinking daily and started running it took about a year for body to really start responding and feeling healthy. I just started lifting weights about 6 months ago and I am finding that my body is slowly but surely responding.

What is your diet like honestly no offensive meant here. I think that is key to results too.
    That's my humble opinion in a nut shell. If you wanted to share further details about your drinking history maybe I would have more in sight.

Comment

I drank a fifth of vodka 5 days a week for 4 years.

Diet consists of salmon, eggs, apples, broccoli, spinach, lean chicken.

I am naturally skinny and could abuse the crap out of my body before and have a couple good workouts and feel good.

Comment

I started working with a trainer after drying out, but sober or no, it's going to take a while to make some gains, unless you have some chemical help which is ill-advised.