Need me some motivation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need me some motivation

Hi all, I have been drinking too much for the past 8 years after going through some major life stress. I look at people who "don't drink through the week" and am in absolute awe. How do they do it? My intentions are good until I have to miss a night drinking and then it's all I can think about.

I've decided the only way is to have a "reset"... And to have a complete break in February... I really could do with some tips and support. I'm a single mum and work in a high pressure, busy job.

What should I expect in going without? When is the toughest time? How long does it take to be ok with it all? (Please don't say never)

All comments and words of wisdom greatly appreciated.

Thank you xx

Hi Aussie and welcome. Its n nice to have an aussie here even if its not a great reason.

these people who dont drink during the week are so called "normal" drinkers who can take it or leave it. For me as an alcoholic i could never go a day without it. I could always find a reason to drink any day, the sky was blue, work was stressful, traffic was bad, kids were being difficult.

We all withdraw differently but to have a basic plan on not drinking is a must. My toughest time was when i got home from work and needed that first drink at 5.15pm through till pass out time. I am 3 years sober and i dont think of al at all except on very odd occasions. At first i logged on here each and every morning and afternoon. i spent time that i used to spend drinking being on here, reading and posting or watching docos on alcoholism to see if i "was that bad" and yes i was.

Head over to the newbies nest and say hello, there is always someone around to give you a hand and lend support.

Just take not drinking one day at a time or hour by hour or minute by minute, it does get easier as time goes on.
    AF free 1st December 2013 - 1st December 2022 - 9 years of freedom

Comment