I Teach College Chemistry.....So?????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

So what does that have to do with being an alcoholic? Lots. I am not a newbie really, but not an oldbie either. I'm an inbetweenbie. Anyhow, I have been reading lots of posts here and am drawing some analogies.

I have taught a bunch of stuff, but one course I love is analytical chemisty. That is basically problem solving. The one thing I find that my students can't do is to take a big problem and make it simple. They don't understand that the biggest problem in the world is only a matter of baby steps. Each step is tiny and is taken one at a time - one by one and at the end of the process you have the answer. The problem seemed huge, but it is just a whole bunch of little easy problems.

To stop drinking (or to moderate) sounds like a huge problem to all of us. And it is. But think of it as only a series of small problems, each one of which is simple to solve. Example: You are in the store and pass by the beer or wine section. You have about 5 seconds to make a simple decision - yes or no. Remember that the most sophisticated computers on earth work on a binary system - basically saying yes or now thousands of times per second. But those are the only two answers they are capable of - yes or no. Those are the only two answers you can make also - yes or no. And you may have to make that decision quickly. Just learn to say no. It only takes an instant. And you just get used to saying no. No to a drink with friends - just have a tonic with lime. No big deal - not a big decision at the moment. No tiny decision is difficult at the moment - because it's tiny. You only have to be strong for an instant. But over time, it adds up to one huge decison to get your life back together.