Newbies in need - Day 23

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbies in need - Day 23

Dear Friends: Hopefully everyone had a wonderful weekend. I finally have the confidence to say that I'm just beginning day 14 AF. I know I cannot get over-confident because of something that happened last night. I was out walking the dog & passed by my neighbors house. He had his trash & recyclables out in anticipation of the trashman coming today. In the recyclable box, I spied many empty wine bottles, an empty vodka bottle, etc. My inner alcoholic immediately kicked up a huge "I'm-having-a-drink" ruckus in my head. Who would think empty bottles could trigger that kind of thinking? I came right inside & got on to MWO & just read posts. That calmed the craving down. This incident reminds me that I have to be vigilant. I see the cravings coming less frequently, and sometimes I can anticipate them. By the way, I feel that when a person puts his bottles out on display for all the world to see, this proves he isn't an alcoholic. He doesn't wrap & bury them in the regular trash or find an out-of-the-way trash receptacle to smuggle them into the way I've done in the past. Have a great day everyone! Mary
    Wisdom, Courage, Strength
    October 3, 2012

Newbies in need - Day 23

Mary, congratulations on Day 14! And just for you, from my inner child, * * * * * * * * * * * * * * (your gold stars). You are doing an awesome job not just "not drinking" but really exploring yourself to understand "you" better. I admire that, and you help me a lot with the thoughts you share.