Not exactly a newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Not exactly a newbie

Hello, everyone- I'm not exactly a newbie although I am new to MWO. I have been participating in a study of the effects of topiramate on excessive alcohol use for the past several weeks and have drastically cut my consumption of alcohol. However, the study will be over in a month or so, and I am worried that I won't be able to maintain the gains that I have made. I'm not really big on the AA twelve step approach, so I am turning to My Way Out to find that support that I'm sure I'll need when the study is ended. All of the stories and threads that I've read in these forums have given me hope that here is the right place to find that help and support.
    A Hopeful

Not exactly a newbie

Hi A Hopeful,
    Welcome to mwo, you are at the right place here. I been to the AA meetings only once, the 12 steps really put me of. Just felt like all the people were brain washed by the 12steps. on this site there is a great bunch of people here, everyone is very suppotive. just keep on posting. I've been here since oct now, and find logging on here everyday helps me alot .
    Wishing you best of luck.
    Teardrop.x
    family is everything to me

Comment

Not exactly a newbie

Hi A Hopeful
      I'm a bit concerned the people running this study offer no further help after the trials end. It's almost like going to rehab for 28 days and getting tossed out on the street again with an attitude of you're cured. Really that is the time when one is just beginning and at their most vulnerable as far as I'm concerned. What made you decide to go on the trials in the first place? Do you recognise you have a drink problem etc? I'd love to hear a bit more about your story A Hopeful if you would care to divulge a bit more.