Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I guess I am not as alone in this as I thought!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi all - a newbie here. I just stumbled onto this page and have spent the past hour or 2 reading up on it. I would like to read a bit more before jumping in with the tapes / pills etc, but I am pretty relieved to read some similar stories, and know I am not alone in this!!

I never had a problem drinking in University (I had no money as a student!) - for me it started when I was 28-29, my first "real" job where i could afford a bottle of wine for a nice dinner on the weekend. Over the next few years it went to a beer after work, followed by wine with dinner. Before I knew it, I drank every day after work . EVERY day. The blackouts and the hangovers were horrid. First thing in the morning I would wake up and assess how bad I was, and try to remember how much I drank the night before. It was pretty sad, but I was still able to hide it (for the most part). However, now that my beau has moved in with me, it has been hard to hide it (which is, in a way a good thing!).

Things have improved for me, however. For about 3 years (at my worst), I could not go 24 hours without a drink. Over the last 2 years, however, I have made it up to 4 days between drinks (and I would love to do more). I think now that I have found this site and realize others out there are in the same boat, I think I will have an outlet to go to !! Yeah!

:new:

:welcome: Minsk!

Unfortunately for most of us the alcohol creeps up. I started as a social drinker on the weekends to a full blown hard-core drinker in a matter of a few years.

Keep reading around, and post often. There is a wealth of knowledge, advice and support here. Glad you found us!

Comment