New life in 2008

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New life in 2008

This is my first time here. I found it purely by accident when thinking how am I going to stop drinking and get control of my life. I was inspired to know that I was not alone with my demons. I have decided that as of 1st January I am going to stop all together. I hate the way alcohol (wine) controls my life. I don't go places at night because I think I won't be home in time to drink. I never used to drink this much - we never had enough money to buy what we wanted 6 years ago. Don't get me wrong, I still drank, it was more binge drinking on the weekends and sober all week as had nothing in the fridge. Now that we have the funds tho, I drink about a bottle of wine (or more sometimes) nearly every night.

I wake every morning at about 2am with a dry mouth and hangover. Then I can't get back to sleep for hours and feel crap the next day. On the odd night I am able to stay off it I sleep right through and feel wonderful the next day. I have gained so much weight with this drinking too that it just adds to my depression and need to drink. I am 40 and need to change my life. This problem runs in my family and I don't want my kids to think it is OK to drink so much.

So even tho it's not the 1st of Jan yet, I am here writing this as I want to get through tonight without a drink - so I am writing this to promise myself that tonight will be AF. I will let you know how I went tomorrow.

New life in 2008

Welcome Turtle Dove,
    I was going to say why wait until Jan 1st, but it sounds like you are already planning on being AF. Keep it up, we don't need a big "date" to pick out to start being AF. There is no better day than today.
    Marcie

Comment

New life in 2008

Turtle