Just stumbled over this site....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I've been either drunk or hung over for most of the last 3 years. Before that, I could go a couple of weeks without drinking, but when I did, it was usually a LOT. I have gone as long as 48 hours without drinking in the last 3 years...a few times. Not many.

I have embarrassed myself in front of nearly everyone I know. And somehow, I have managed to convince myself that I'm not doing all that badly because I have a good job, I don't miss work, I get up everyday and drag myself through life with a hangover.

I'm a health care professional and have done lots of research into addiction. I wrote myself a prescription for naltrexone a year or two ago. It didn't really help. Of course I didn't take it regularly...it got in the way of drinking.

I am scheduled to check into Schick Shadle hospital for two weeks of treatment in a couple of weeks. When I told my husband and my adult sons what I was doing they all were very relieved. I kind of expected them to say, "WHY?? You're fine!"

Denial is a bugger.

I'm terrified of facing life without alcohol and PISSED that I can't just have ONE glass of wine. Other people can! What's wrong with me?

Anyway, I'm happy to be here and feel very lucky to have stumbled into this forum.:new:
    "We all have a better guide in ourselves, if we would attend to it, than any other person can be." Jane Austen

welcome

welcome lefty.

I'm relatively new here myself but have been AF since I joined on Monday. People are very warm and understanding. I'm still taking it ODAT.

It helps me a lot just to log on here during my witching hours between 7-9pm and read and fill in the drink tracker everymorning. I won't lie, the first few nights were hellish (will I/won't I) and the days are an emotional rollercoaster but still so much better than the numb dumb days spent nursing a hangover.

Best of luck.

Comment

hey lefty- welcome from me too.