Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm just starting out

Hi everyone
    I am getting confused as to where to post. I think this is a good place for me as well as the monthly abstinence board. I'm 31, married and have two beautiful daughters (5 months and one 2 years old). I have realised that I have always had a problem with drinking, as early as 17 years old. I wouldn't drink during the week but on a weekend I would drink myself to oblivian, blackouts the lot. After I got married and settled down (around 23) my drinking starting in the house. Sometimes controlled, sometimes not. After I had my first daughter I suffered bad post natal depression, I was put on ADs and drink became my "calm". It escalated from a couple of glasses to 1 bottle to boxes where I didn't know how much I was consuming. My marriage suffered and I had problems with my family. Luckily I fell pregnant (unplanned but still very much wanted) and stopped immediately. Everything was fine during my pregnancy, I did crave wine but managed to abstain. Once my second daughter was born I suffered post natal depression again with a vengence. I stupidly resorted back to "my old friend" AL. Now, here I am 5 months on and WANT TO STOP. I can't let things go the way they did before. I have done a lot of soul searching over the past few weeks and have decided that my relationship with AL has got to end. For my daughters, my marriage and importantly myself. So far I have managed 1 night,last night. So can I join this thread and share my journey with you all as clearly we all have something in common. I'm looking forward to being AL free, being the mother I can be and the wife I know I can be. I have hope. I have dreams I want to fufill. Look forward to hearing from you all. XXXSeto

I'm just starting out

Seto,

:welcome:

This thread is as good a place as any to start!!