another new girl

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

another new girl

OK - here goes. This is my first time ever participating in a forum. I found the MWO site through a link on HashSpace site - kind of ironic, considering that the hash is "the drinking club with a running problem". I downloaded the book almost a month ago, and have been mulling things over ever since. I drink about a litre of wine every night, and much more on weekends. I know perfectly well that this is at the root of so many of my problems. I drink at night, and then smoke too (I don't smoke at all during the day!), then I stay up too late as I don't sit down until about 11pm, then I'm tired the next day, my productivity has dropped, my swimming pool workouts have slowed, I don't go to the gym much any more because I am too tired, I need to lose about 20lb but it just won't come off with all that wine drinking, and to top it off, I spend too much money on wine and cigarettes. Lately, I have been having pain in my stomach and wonder if I am getting gastritis or something, as I have read that this can happen with excessive drinking. Then there are those embarrassing things I say and do when we are out socially, and those mysterious, massive bruises I often end up with but have no idea how they got there. I know perfectly well I have to stop, but something takes over every night and I can't stop myself from pouring that first glass of wine, and from then on, there is no stopping. Just one more....... until 1:30 am!! Or until the bottle is gone - can't leave an open bottle of wine just sitting there!!

I tried to make an appt with my doctor, but can't get in for a couple of months. I really don't want to go to a walk-in-clinic doctor and I am too nervous to get that drug on-line and take it without some medical advise. I am also scared that my doctor would not agree with taking it.