Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Semi-Functioning AL Boy, But Waffling ...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

:new:

So, I'm 38 years old. I've been drinking every day (save for a few 5 day stints away from it over the past year and a half) for about 8 years. I drink beers and every time I open a beer I have a GULP of vodka or whiskey or tequila. I may have 4-10 beers per night. I've been hiding my hard-liquor stash for about 9 months from my wife. Some nights I put myself to sleep early - which I will probably do tonight as well - with a couple Benadryls - to keep myself from drinking too much. This seems to work for me sometimes.

But, here's where I think this has become a problem. I went to the post-office today and had to fill out an over-night shipping form. I was shaking bad enough that it took me way too long to fill out the form so that it was legible. I think the postman behind the counter noticed and I felt terrible and ashamed ... so, I backed-out on the other errands I had to run (one being the liquor store) because I didn't want anyone else to see me shaking while I attempted to write out checks or deposit slips (I live in a small town - everyone knows everyone).

My liver (I think - pancreas? kidney?) has been aching; not a lot, but enough that I notice it when I get up and about in the late morning. This is not good. I have been regularly taking fish oil capsules, vitamin D, B vitamins, multi-vitamins, and trying to make sure I have some sort of healthy breakfast. Of course, this helps. But, right now, I am into my 3rd beer and my 5th gulp of tequila; it's 7:15PM. My wife will be home by 10PM and I will likely be sleeping, even though she probably would like to tell me about her day - probably won't happen. Had some Cranberry juice for the kidneys.

I should post this in "My Story", but it should translate well enough here.