Hi there

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi there

I found this place last year but I dont think I was ready to attempt to quit at the time, anyway another years worth of liver damage later and I have finally decided enough is enough.

I am on day one today and feeling a bit nervous about it, I usually start drinking at weekends about 2pm and carry on until IM shattered and fall asleep at 9pm.

I have been drinking heavily for about 5/6 years now, I drank through my second pregnancy (albeit a lot less than I was normally drinking but drinking all the same) I feel so guilty about this.

I dont even want to start thinking about the damage I have done to myself and my relationships with people over these years, my oldest daughter is lovely but she said something to me that has triggered this first ever attempt to quit. Apparently Im a much nicer and funnier person when I am sober and she avoids me when Im drinking as I can be quite sarcastic and snappy.

To be honest I hate myself for this too and I want to start liking myself again. I havent been able to hold down a relationship with anyone in all this time and potentially destroyed one or two budding relationships because of my drinking.

Fortunately last time I was here I stocked up on the vitamins and minerals from the store here and I have put them out on the kitchen side, and the doses are stuck on my fridge til I get used to what I need to take every day.

Anyway, theres my first dip into the forum, I look forward to getting to know you and Im so pleased you are all here as there is no-one else I can talk to about this. I havent even told my oldest daughter I am planning on quitting yet as Im scared I will fail and let her down.

Hi there

Well I wasn't planning on posting on here - just having a quick check in to see if I had an answer to a question but I couldn't help but read your post and feel I must reply to it.