First Day AF Tomorrow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Day AF Tomorrow

Hello Everyone -- This is my first time posting. I don't know how much alcohol is a problem for me or not, but I guess I'll find out soon. It has been creeping up on me. For the longest time I limited myself to a half bottle of wine a night. At social gatherings I would usually have 3 or 4 glasses, though on occasion would have more. (As a 5 foot tall female, this seems like a fair amount). Lately at times I have been drinking a whole bottle of wine a night. I function OK -- am sometimes late to work, but have never been a morning person and my boss doesn't really care -- but I'm starting to feel not OK about it. For one thing, I feel fat, bloated, and tired. For another, I am in the health field and have seen people with severe liver damage. It's not pretty. Also it's expensive to drink this much. Another thing is that alcoholism is in my family -- father, a couple of grandparents, brother, etc. Anyway, I have decided to try to go 30 days AF, starting tomorrow. I bought a really good bottle of wine to drink tonight (I'm halfway through it but will probably finish it off -- don't want to waste it, you know). I am really glad I found this site. I know that AA is not for me, and I don't think I'm like my brother, who if he has just one drink is out of control, and I love wine and would hate to think of never having any ever again. I'll see how it goes for 30 days, and if I can't even do that, that in itself will give me more information to go on! I plan to order some kudzu from this site. By the way... what is "HF"? ...

First Day AF Tomorrow

Hi Katagrl,

Good luck on your 30 days AF. I am currently on Day 4 after a few trys.