Emotionally fragile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Emotionally fragile

This is one of two posts I want to do tonight. But I want them separate.

I've spent most of the last year being emotionally fragile. I mean to say I got upset over things that should not upset me. And it seemed like everything piled on to me.

For one thing, I'm a business owner and employer. Running a small business in the midst of a recession makes me want to barf. I reduced staff in 2007 as a proactive measure, and that largely worked. But I got totally worked up about some of the employees I had to let go.

My spouse was not working last year, and had tried to do eBay and be an Amazon reseller, but had settled into a pattern of blogging all day on the internet with no dollars of income. If we were actually in financial trouble I would have had to turn off the hot tub, or fire the housekeeper, and I did neither. But my spouses lack of work was a constant meme in my drinking mind.

I read a book on alcohol called something like "The Miracle Cure" where you dream for a miracle, then pretend it happened, and then you are "Cured".

For me it really did happen! My spouse got a great job, and my business picked up, and it's now high summer and my garden has been spectacular this year.

But I found woe is me, my stevia died due to a watering malfunction (stevia is an herb from South America. I paid $5 for the seeds which is actually a lot for seeds, although not a lot for a drink). Due to my inattention several areas of my lawn are now dry, and one area has weeds (which my spouse has pointed out, mea culpa, a dry spot in the lawn!)

This is Horrible! Horrible; and therefore an excuse to get a drink.

I found over time, or maybe just over the last couple years when my drinking patterns and sleep patterns changed, that drinking made me very emotionally fragile.

I got obsessed over little things. Things that I can easily handle.