mark54

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

mark54

greetings!. i'm a newbie, just now started. it's 2am in idaho and i'm looking forward to starting my life over again and i'm going to need some help from you all.
    i've been an alcoholic most of my adult life.... i guess you could say i've been a functional alcoholic, but one nevertheless. i've tried to battle this demon recently with the support of my family... my brother in Alaska has been in recovery for over 20 years, and i've been sober for some periods of time. but kept resorting back. well, it all came crashing down last saturday night when i was pulled over and arrested for dui. my wife refused to help me out, feeling that i needed to learn a lesson, and she's right. i have some friends that i'm staying with till i can figure out the best way to start the road to recovery. i'm fascinated by this web site and i hope to hear back from any of you for some advice.
    mark54

mark54

Welcome mark. I too have been done for dui. Make sure it is the wake up call your after and dont, as i did, us it as self pity and a reason to drink. Even more in my case. Your in a good place, with lots of people willing to give you there help. Keep reading and posting and stay positive. Lets hope this is the start of your journey to sobriety.
    To Infinity And Beyond!!

Comment

mark54

Hi mark
      Welcome. You have come to the right place. Lots of help here but as you know its down to you too. If you read the book it will give you an understanding of what is involved with the program and most people try to equip themselves with as many of the tools as possible to get the best effect. Its not very rigid and lots of people vary it to suit themselves and their circumstances.
      I am sure you will be glad you made this step. Keep reading and posting.
      BH (no more)

Comment

mark54

:welcome: Mark54,