I need support

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I need support

Hi I'm sitting here and for the very first time admitted that I have an alcohol problem. I,ve missed work again today and feel very ashamed. The problem is that I heavily binge and then stop for a few days. However, the "few days" are becoming less and less. I also work with alcoholics and see the damage it does on a daily basis, but I still continue to drink. I feel unable to ask for help because I work closely with the local addiction and alcohol service workers and would feel a failure when I'm supposed to be helping.

I would be grateful for some support.

I need support

Hi Gia, I've been drinking for 27 years roughly, starting when I was about 15. I could never see the point in having 1 or 2 pints, and always had to get drunk to enjoy myself. My liver now really hurts for days after a binge and find it difficult to sleep without a drink because of the ache in my liver. I just want to access medication to reduce my craving but know that the GP wont precribe unless I go through addiction services.

Comment

I need support

Is there anyone where you work that you can confide in? I would think so - since that's the name of the game!! They certainly shouldn't be judgmental...

But I do think this forum is Fantastic. Some great encouragement here.
      Sometimes you have to take the leap and build your wings on the way down... Anais Nin

Comment

I need support

Hi Hopefully....why are you a failure for asking for help??? I think you would be a faillure if you didnt. I think you should stick around for a while and you will get so much support. All the best Bella XXX

Comment

I need support