First Timer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Timer

First time here. Not sure really how to start out. I've been drinking heavily for 4 years and my wife has finally got fed up. She doesn't know nearly the amount that I consume since I hide it pretty good. I drink mostly because I am bored, I have a good life, great boys and a great job. I also have gained 70 Lbs since this began. I drank about 4 times a week, at about 18 beers a night. Sometimes more. I know this is the time to change my ways. Looking for help, possibly hobbies people know about to keep me away from the sauce. Ideas?

PAt
    PAW:nutso:

First Timer

HP, welcome. You can get a lot of help and support here! Your first step will be to learn more about the MWO program; you can read the book (available here on-site) and you can read a lot more here in the forum. Overcoming alcohol dependence requires help, determination, and a good plan. There's a thread here called "tool box" that talks about a lot of the things that help people.... you will want to check that out!

wip

Comment

First Timer

Welcome healthypaw :welcome:,

I'm so glad you've found us and this site! It sounds like your ready for a change and that's great. I would suggest you read some of the posts on this site and get familiar with it. I would also suggest reading the My Way Out book, it downloadable.

I'm not much for preaching to others and just want to say "welcome" and I hope you find the help you're looking for here. I also hope you begin to take better care of yourself for you and for your family. This site, and the wonderful people on it, have helped me with that. I feel better than I have in years.

Take care, :l
      Becoming
      "Action is...the enemy of thought." :l Joseph Conrad

Comment

First Timer

Hello and Welcome