how to start a new beginning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what makes one think that it is enjoyable to drink then to lose control, and start it all over the next day? i am looking to start a new life without the use of a drink .i plan on stopping at the local watering hole on dec 31 for a few then, come home and start for a new day begining,i am tired of telling myself that i am a funcitional acholic ,any tips greatly appreciated this is my first time in a long time trying to stop drinking all to gether.:new:

hey

hi there and welcome to MYO, great idea you have. the only advice i can give you is stay close to hear. read and post as much as you like. there are somany wonderful people here, always willing to help.

maybe download the book and have a read?

good luck and welcome

:welcome:

an alcoholic is someone you don't like, that drinks as much as you do

Comment

Hi again New Life. It was nice meeting you in chat tonight. Good for you on your decision to get alcohol out of your life in the coming New Year!

I agree that reading the book is a great start....it can really help you on putting together your personal plan. In my personal experience....I quit hundreds of times....only to go back to drinking in a short period of time. I kept thinking that I just couldn't accomplish the task of stopping and that I was just one more statistic.

I also considered myself a "Fuctional Alcoholic"......now I think that is a BS term used to keep on drinking! Yep...I still drove my car, had a good job, still had my family....all this inspite of the fact that I regularly drank myself into blackouts, frequently made an ass out of myself and "functioned" while fighting a hangover several days a week! Today I realize that the word "Functional" was a six cylinder engine, operating on only two cylinders.....the motor was still running, but was barely making it.....and making it with great distress!

Best Wishes!
      Kate