How do know?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do know?

If you have a problem? Is there a list of questions that would help determine? I can give you a quick (or maybe not so quick) run down of my concerns and maybe someone can help direct me...

I have been drinking for over 30 years (I am 47 yr. old female). In high school I was always the "drinker" of my group (my friends were mostly potheads). The only time I have gone AF was during my pregnancies and two 40 days stints for Lent. I drink red or white wine daily and I don't count bottles because I buy big box wine. I would guess about five 6 oz. glasses a night (usually starting at 4:00 pm when I get home from work, but on weekends could be more like 6 or 7 or 8 ??? starting as early as 1:00 pm). Over the years I have had some embarrassing episodes (known only to close family) and I have put myself and family in dangerous situations by driving after drinking. For the most part now I keep my composure but have a few mornings I wake up and have to rethink conversations and try to piece together events. I am very functional during the day and my friends and most family would never believe I have a problem. I can drink socially and no one would guess I drink the way I drink at home. I have no problem abstaining when I have activities in the evening that entail not showing up tipsy but I do plan activities around whether I think I will want to drink at night (does that make sense?)

All this has come up because I have always needed to lose about 40 lbs. I don't seem to be able to lose it without giving up alcohol yet I dread having to give up wine and usually go back to drinking once the weekend arrives. I try to find plans that I can fit in my beloved wine but of course no plan allows for the amount I like to drink!!