Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WHat am I like? :-)

G'day all :-)

Have been on here before but not for a long time, so thought I'd better introduce myself as a Newbie..

My name is David, I'm in Melbourne, Australia and I've been drinking too much for the last 10 years..

I've only tried doing something about it for the last 2 years and have been especially trying to sort myself out this year..

Most I've managed is 2 weeks alcohol free last year and Moderated this year for 3 months (No more than 2 beers a night and two alcohol free days a week)

I was pretty happy with three months of moderation, really thought I had it sorted but now am knocking off a bottle of Red wine a night minimum ( sometimes two!)

So here I go again....Hoorah!

Planning to wean myself from a bottle a night to a glass of red a night over the next week, if that fails I'll be off to the Doctors for a few weeks worth of Diazepam (Valium) and not drink at all..

Wish me luck!
    What you perceive is what you believe, so make sure you look at things the right way....

:welcome: Waving

Did they have the toolbox thread when you were here before. It's in the monthly abstinence section. It sounds like you're working on a plan to get started. You might also want to check out the newbies nest thread.

Good luck on weaning off. That's what worked for me. Hope to see more of you.
    AF since 7/26/2009

"There is nothing noble in being superior to other man. The true nobility is being superior to your previous self."--Hindu proverb.

"Sobriety isn't a landing but rather a journey." anonymous

Comment

Evening Waving, and welcome back again!
      As lil suggested, the 'toolbox' thread is good reading for some good support tips, when getting off, or cutting back the grog. We also have a downunder thread for our timezone called 'the next day thread', which is daily, so you are most welcome to drop in.
      Best wishes...............G.