Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Preparing to Start, Anyone not taking Topamax?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello Everyone,

Thank you so much for being here. I know I will learn so much from all of you and this board.

I am not a hardcore drinker (don't have to drink every day, don't crave it excessively, mostly do it out of ritual and habit), however, I do drink (red wine), almost every evening. I am here because I don't like this compulsion and don't want this drive to rule my life. Oh, and my alcohol consumption (along with some other life changes) has caused me to gain a considerable amount of weight, which also concerns me.

My question to you is, is Topamax vital to success with this program? I am a bit nervous about the side effects, too, since I can't be loopy and do what I do for a living. Also, it seems really expensive. I don't have health insurance (I'm self-employed and only have catastrophic) so I would have to buy it online. I did the math, based on the chart in the book, and are we really supposed to take (over the 12 weeks) 238 twenty-five milligrams, and 105 hundred milligrams? Please correct me if I am wrong on my calculations.

Thank you so much in advance for you help and advice.

~Mel

Welcome workitgirl!

I think some people follow the programme to the letter, some do bits and pieces and some don't do any of it (apart from forum support). Different things work or don't work for different people, and might change over time.

What's your plan? Are you trying to stop all together or cut down?
    sigpic
    AF since December 22nd 2008
    Real change is difficult, and slow, and messy - Oliver Burkeman

Comment

Hi workitgirl

The most important thing you need is the right mental attitude!