My story..can I ask for your help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am a 57 year old salesman who is happily married with three grown up daughters. I have a great life and everything going for me. I am not wealthy but not hard up either. Life is good with one exception...I have a drink problem.

I have drank alcohol for most of my life. I drink every evening as much as two bottles of white wine. At the weekend it can be as much as three bottles. I never pass out or feel hammered, but often I can't remember what I did or said the previous night. I rarely get hangovers and do not have the shakes. However I know that I have a problem because although it doesn't look like it, my job is being affected by use of alcohol.

My Doctor advised me to try and cut down but not to stop completely as it could be dangerous. I went to the alcohol advisory clinic and found them not to be very helpful. I know that if I continue as I am then my life will be short, I will end up losing my job and perhaps my wife and home, yet alcohol still seems to keep winning the battle in my head. If anyone out there can give me some advice or help, I would be really grateful.:new:

Hi there Timpin, a huge welcome to you!
    My advice to you would be to read the book (you can download it from this site). That will give you some ideas to put a plan together i.e. abstinence or moderation and ways to help you achieve it. There is lots of ways to beat cravings, such as supplements or meds plus reading and posting here for support and inspiration.
    There is also a terrific thread in the Monthly Abstinence section called the Toolbox thread. That has lots of ideas for making plan, motivation, and dealing with triggers.
    You have found a great place here.
    Best wishes.
    Living now and not just existing since 9th July 2008
    Nicotine Free since 6th February 2009

Comment