New - thought I was alone

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I probably started drinking when I was 15 or 16, for confidence mainly, having been brought up in a very critical environment it was the only way I seemed to be able to feel comfortable with myself.

The last nine years though have been the worst, things have escalated, I have experienced many challenges and used wine to dull my fears and emotions.

I have tried many times and bought many programmes to stop drinking, which I mostly do at home (the drinking), without success. The result is that I seem to have entered into a cycle of shame and guilt (I'm an expert at guilt!), low energy, and the resultant depression which then makes me want to drink more, in fact I feel as though I am missing something important if I don't drink!

I really don't want to be like this, the guilt and shame (self-imposed) has caused me to isolate myself from life. I really thought I was alone, the only person who had this shameful secret! Then I stumbled across this site, I am really hoping that realising I am not alone and having the support of others who understand will be the boost I need to be AF.

:thanks:
    I love you, I'm sorry, please forgive me, thank you.

Hi and welcome Gold.
    Have you read the book "My Way Out" yet? I found it really inspiring (a short read) and helped me devise a plan to get my life back.
    The program uses supplements, medication (not compulsory), a healthy diet and exercise. Being a part of this wonderful and supportive community has also been essential in my journey.

You aren't alone anymore:-)
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it"

Comment

Hi Gold.
      I think many of us can relate to your need to drink to give confidence. Trouble is, underneath, its eroding our confidence and creating depression and other mental health problems.
      You are certainly not alone.