I'm new and need help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm new and need help

I have been reading posts here for several days and decided to take the plunge. Somehow alcohol has gotten ahold of me and I can't shake it. Out of 7 days/nights I drink at least 4 or 5 days, usually a bottle + of wine and some peppermint schnops. The usual pattern is I drink one night and then the next don't and swear I will never touch it again. Then the next day I drink again and sometimes I don't skip a day.

I am a professional woman and my coworkers have no idea...I think I'm sneaky so my family won't know but I know my husband -(who is gone all week and drinks himself) is making an occasional comment about my drinking. I have 3 sons that are alcoholic's - their father drank himself to death at the age of 49. I have been remarried for 29 yrs and we have a 28 yr old daughter who does not drink. I have 6 beautiful grandchildren. I was not raised around drinking and only drank socially now and then over the years. At times when the boys were having issues I would not drink at all. Then about 2 or 3 years ago I started drinking more and more. I cannot believe something that for the most part I have detested over the years, due to the damage it has caused my family, now has ahold of me.

Over the years I have gone to counseling, read tons of books, articles, researched alcoholism on the internet....felt I have a good understanding of it....so I do understand in my logical brain how this has happened. I know all the ways to get help....but I am scared and don't want to go to the dr for medicine, as I don't want that in my medical records.