Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

One Day Without Wine

Hello there,

This is my first time on this site and wanted to share that I made one night (last night) without my wine. Whoo hoo! Seems like a small victory, but there has only been a few days in the last five years that I have not had wine. I did, however, devour a box of red vines and other sweets. I figured that was better than drinking at this point. I feel good today and plan on a 30 day abstinence and reevaluate how I feel at that time. I have a lot of addiction in my family history. I saw Oprah on Monday and she had on woman who were high functioning alcoholics. It was clear to me that I put myself in the responsible drinking catagory because I have had a career, family and not DWI's. I do, however, have problems in my relationships and a general feeling of low drive and energy. I'm ready to get my groove back, so here I go.

I used to think life was dull without drinking and couldn't understand those who didn't. I thought they were missing out on a lot of fun. I am seeing things differntly now, as I am no longer having fun. I am nervous about something stressfull popping up in my life and the urge to drink. I just went through a divorce and drank myself to sleep everynight, numbing the pain. I'm ready to face reality.

I'm glad to have found this web site and look forward to getting and receiving support.

One Day Without Wine

Hello Higherground,
    Welcome to MYO. You have found a wonderful place for friendship, support and information.
    :welcome:

Comment

One Day Without Wine

Hello and :welcome:

You sound very positive. And one day is great, it means you are trying and you are here. This place is wonderful. Have you read the book? It is a great place to start. It gives you an overall view of some of the tools you can use to help. Kudzu and LGlut help me.

Sending you tons of support
      :l
      Ak

PM me anytime